Briefly, Sushi

I whipped up a few…

Okay, fine. You don’t just “whip up” fourteen sushi rolls. Hence the lack of a proper blog post – there just wasn’t any time for it. I made fourteen sushi rolls of five different varieties the other night for some friends, and I think it turned out pretty well…

I’m still exhausted.

The rolls are, clockwise from the bottom:

  • Fisherman’s Roll: All the seafood that remained from the other rolls. Goodness from the deep.
  • Tampa Roll: Traditionally made with fried grouper, this is an attempt to replicate a grouper sandwich in sushi format. I used fried haddock, along with mayonnaise and onions.
  • Seared Flounder Roll: Pretty much what you think it is. Seared flounder, guacamole, sweet peppers, and cucumber.
  • Spicy Shrimp Roll: The popular favorite. I used five favorite spicy condiments in their creation, along with some chopped shrimp and sour cream (for relief):

Fear me.

  • Veggie Roll: Onion, sweet peppers, carrots, cucumber, and guacamole.

I promise to do a full post on sushi soon, but I have to say that I’m glad that I finally figured out the inside-out roll. What a difference!

About The Brawling Poet

I'm a father, husband, and teacher (in that order) with slightly geekish interests. And don't worry - I brawl metaphorically. Check out my Twitter feed at @TheBrawlingPoet as well.
This entry was posted in Food and Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Briefly, Sushi

  1. Kimberly says:

    Looks delicious. Of course, the thing I enjoy most about sushi is its ability to convey wasabi to my mouth. 😉

  2. I want to be your best friend that moves in and lives in your garage, making everyone in your house uncomfortable, but allowing me to eat always, all the time.

  3. I’m not afraid to say it–you roll with the best!

Leave a Reply

